#TransformationTuesday – I gave in.

Yes. What you see below is real, and yes my jaw is on the floor. Now, with that being said, when it comes to putting my mind to something, I am VERY dedicated. It is not easy, but the rewards I have already been swimming in during the last two weeks are well worth it.

Before CRF and 2 Weeks After

Before CRF and 2 Weeks After

My body is slowly getting to a state of Ketosis and changes are happening fast…faster than my Wi-Fi, fast. Now, what is Ketosis? Well, truth be told I had to look up the definition myself.

Ketosis: is a state at which the body has an extremely high fat-burning rate. Even the brain runs on fat, via ketone bodies. These are energy molecules in the blood (like blood sugar) which become fuel for our brains after being converted from fat by the liver.

Scientific Breakdown of Ketosis

Scientific Breakdown of Ketosis

Who would have thought? You really can learn something new everyday, unless you are really lazy and lacking that 3pm caffeine fix at the local Starbucks (Dunkin’ Donuts is better – sorry it’s a New England thing). I know that I can’t think without my coffee, but needless to say, my energy levels are up 10x from where they were before starting Chapter One of CRF.

 Now, CRF, what exactly is that? Well, my good friend, Rodrick Covington, is a certified personal trainer and nutritionist. He owns Core Rhythm Fitness which sets a high precedence of “Trusting your Core and not your Gut!” Unfortunately with my hectic work schedule and constant traveling, I am only able to follow the intense nutrition plan, but I still workout 3-4 times per week (no not a 20 minutes on the treadmill workout…I WORK IT OUT) using techniques I have learned from all of my coaches in the past – for you all I am grateful for helping shape me into being me.

Here’s a preview of what Rodrick does (Video Featuring Rodrick and our good friend Charles Melton; Music by: Jonathan Marquez):

Pretty intense, right? Now my nutrition plan is completely catered to my body type and what foods my body needs for fuel and is easy for me to metabolize. I have my very own Food Bible and the first two weeks are the most intense. All of my foods are logged into the My Fitness Pal app, which is great for users to see the breakdown of what they’re eating. Note: Not everything is completely accurate, nor should you count every single calorie, but stay within your limits. It’s great to keep yourself accountable for what you’re actually putting in your mouth. I’m forming healthy habits and I can’t say I’m doing a lot of complaining. Keep health and fitness fun! Rodrick says, “It is a journey – and it’s NOT about the destination!”

Trader Joe's Run Week 1

Trader Joe’s Run Week 1

Trader Joe's Run Week 2

Trader Joe’s Week 2

Not pictured: A lot more veggies, condiments, and other foods on my nutrition plan.

You’ll notice that I’ve gone mostly organic, well ladies and gents – it is WORTH it! You’ll notice that the taste of your meats and produce are completely different. If you’re on a budget, Trader Joe’s is the way to go, but I also prefer to indulge in my health, so multiple Whole Foods runs are necessary.

With my schedule, I am forced to prep, pack and carry my food everywhere. I never know which city, state, or location I’ll be at during the times I need to eat. I also eat A LOT, more than I ever have. I am always satisfied and my body has begun to tell me that I’m hungry every few hours.

A few of my prepped meals for the week.

A few of my prepped meals for the week.

Keep the fridge stocked with clean foods - it helps!

Keep the fridge stocked with clean foods – it helps!

Now that you’ve seen a tiny sliver of my new journey and big results after just two weeks – I hope you’ll stay tuned to my future posts! I’m excited to share all of the ups and downs with you and yes, as requested, I will most certainly post a video blog with you VERY soon! Please leave all questions and comments below.

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter: @heatherelwell | Also: @rodrickcovington and @corerhythmfitness http://www.corerhythmfitness.net/

Pilates Gone Wild

Pilates Gone Wild

 

Love and Ketosis xx –

Heather Elwell

 

 

2 comments

  1. Michelle Ameno says:

    You’re fridge looks just like mine!! Haha I love it 🙂

    Keep up the awesome work!

    You inspired me this evening.

    -Michelle

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
